Congress Embraces Unemployment

Congress Embraces Unemployment

Both Sides Now

        Two months ago Congress terminated unemployment benefits for over 1.7 million people facing record cold weather heating bills while your Senators, Representatives and President left town for their holiday vacations. They promised to fix the unemployment extensions upon their return but it has still not been solved.

       Congress returns to work this week from their third break from D.C. this year with Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid promising to put unemployment extensions at the front of his agenda. He can not do this alone, so now would be a good time to write, call or email your Senator, Representative and President to let them know where you stand on this issue and to let them know their actions will be remembered when you vote this year.

Together, we can make this happen!    Thank You.

            To contact President Obama and Vice President Joe Biden by email, phone or regular mail to let them know how you feel about extending unemployment benefits, go to;    

http://www.whitehouse.gov/contact/submit-questions-and-comments

Image

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. alonso
    Feb 24, 2014 @ 06:11:35

    we need help please help

    Reply

  2. Don Monroe
    Feb 24, 2014 @ 07:17:33

    since the last vote,with the high hopes,of another extension,we finaly realized that help was not near.Even with great programs like welfare,that might be abe to feed us for awhile,the utilities are starting to get shut off..I would like to thank congress for teaching me that it is possable to save money when you live out of a car,in the dead of winter.That is my next step…Its okay though cause I know I will be going back to work when the weather breaks,like I have done for 33 yrs now

    Reply

  3. peter perrone
    Feb 24, 2014 @ 12:33:06

    Please help, republicans are killing nearly 2 million hard working Americans..perhaps we should empty their bank account and give them a case of ramen noodles to live on, first time in my live being American is a disgrace.

    Reply

  4. hillaryclintonmeme
    Feb 24, 2014 @ 15:40:11

    Thank you for writing and sharing. That’s a good suggestion, I would like to see that too., I put a link in my unemployment posts to contact President Obama and Vice President Joe Biden to let them know that we need help.

    The link is;

    To contact President Obama and Vice President Joe Biden by email, phone or regular mail to let them know how you feel about extending unemployment benefits, go to;

    http://www.whitehouse.gov/contact/submit-questions-and-comments

    Reply

  5. Dutchess
    Feb 25, 2014 @ 19:52:21

    I am hoping for help in this serious matter. I am neither lazy nor wanting hand outs. Wonder sometimes if decisions made for we citizens really matter to those who already have.

    Reply

    • hillaryclintonmeme
      Feb 25, 2014 @ 22:01:28

      I have provided links on the unemployment pieces to send a message to the White House. I know it sucks to try to remind The White House to do the right thing but I believe they gauge their reaction according to the responses they receive.

      Thank you for writing!

      Reply

  6. Ana Cortes-Rivera
    Feb 26, 2014 @ 20:08:44

    I AM TIRED OF CONGRESS AND THEIR CRAP. WHEN BUSH WAS PRESIDENT CONGRESS EXTENTED UNEMPLOYMENT FOR 2 YEARS, WHAT IS THE PROBLEM HERE??? WE CAN’T EVEN GET A 3 MONTH EXTENSION??? I VOTE TO FIRE EVERYBODY IN CONGRESS AND GET NEW PEOPLE, THAT CAN HELP US NOT HURT US!! YOU PEOPLE MAKE TOO MUCH MONEY AND DON’T DESERVE IT AT ALL, HOW DO YOU ALL SLEEP AT NIGHT?? THE AMERICAN PEOPLE PAY ALL OF YOUR SALARIES AND YOU DON’T EVEN CARE ABOUT US, ONLY ABOUT YOURSELVES. YOU ARE ALL SELFISH PEOPLE AND CONGRESS YOU ALL ARE A DISGRACE TO THE AMERICAN PEOPLE!!

    Reply

    • hillaryclintonmeme
      Feb 26, 2014 @ 20:52:55

      Yes! Where is the media outrage when Obama and our Congress leave town during the Christmas holiday leaving the unemployed without insurance facing record cold temperatures while Obama is enjoying the tropical climate of Hawaii?

      Please, Please, Please write both our President and Vice President using the links provided to let them know how you feel.

      Thank you for writing!

      Reply

      • Charlotte
        Feb 27, 2014 @ 04:50:19

        Dear Mr. Obama do you no longer care want happens to the people who put you in office and believed in you? I guess not seeing as your not up for another term in office and no longer need our votes. I hope you get this and realize I didn’t call you president Obama because you don’t deserve the title when you let this awful situation continue. People are losing there homes and becoming homeless and hungry things that they worked all their life’s to earn are gone. I lost my job that I worked at for 17 yrs do you really think i want to be in this situation. I’m 62 and had to take my social security early to have any income which gives me a grand total of 1083.00 a month to live on. I have no insurance so out of that I have to see my doctor every 3 months and pay for the 10 different medications I’m on. Lucky my x husband has been trying to help a little but there are others out there even worst off then I am. Maybe all the millions affected should move in to that nice warm White House you live in rent free.

      • hillaryclintonmeme
        Feb 27, 2014 @ 06:33:18

        Charlotte, thank you for sharing your letter. PBS is doing a series of stories on the unemployed that you consider sharing with. Here is the link;

        http://www.pbs.org/newshour/updates/stories-long-term-unemployment/

        Thank You!

Leave a Reply

